Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in /home/customer/www/polksports.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-optimize-premium/wp-optimize.php on line 613

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/polksports.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-optimize-premium/wp-optimize.php on line 590
Undisputed: Polk County claims WHC boys tennis championship - Boys Tennis

Undisputed: Polk County claims WHC boys tennis championship

From uncertainty to undisputed conference champions – meet Polk County’s 2021 boys tennis team.

A few weeks ago, most of his potential roster still playing soccer, Richard Davis wasn’t even certain if the Wolverines would be able to field a full boys tennis team. Tuesday afternoon, a complete Polk County squad made school history with a 7-2 victory at Mountain Heritage.

The win clinched the Western Highlands Conference regular-season championship for the Wolverines. It is just the second boys tennis title in school history and it is the first time that Polk County has won an outright crown after sharing the 2019 title with Owen.

The Wolverines’ streak of 9-0 conference finals ended at four, but that mattered little at day’s end.

“It was a good win over a scrappy team,” Davis said. “We did a great job of fighting them off.”

Polk County (7-1) grabbed a 5-1 lead after the completion of singles play, then clinched the match with victories at No. 1 and No. 2 doubles.

One more bit of history could await Polk County – the Wolverines can complete their first perfect conference season with a win Thursday at Owen. It will also be the final WHC match for Polk as the school moves into a new conference next season.

“It would be great to close out the conference Thursday with a win over Owen,” Davis said. “We’ll hop on the bus come Thursday, drive to Black Mountain and see what happens.”

1. Adam Kehrer (PC) d. Clint Marlow 10-4; 2. Matias Akers (PC) d. Luke Waltroos 10-7; 3. Peyton Shelton (MH) d. Andy Ballentine 10-8; 4. Jack Smith (PC) d. Brennan Burge 10-5; 5. Cameron Greve (PC) d. Max Smoker 10-8; 6. Gaige Lewis (PC) d. Vaughn Smoker 10-1.

1. Kehrer-Akers (PC) d. Marlow-Shelton 8-2; 2. Ballentine-Smith (PC) d. Waltrous-Burge 8-5; 3. Smoker-Smoker (MH) d. Luke Becker-Eric Avellaneda 8-2