Polk County's Carson Marshall

Polk County will travel to Salisbury on Saturday for the opening round of the state 2A boys soccer playoffs, based on official brackets released Thursday by the North Carolina High School Athletic Association.

The Wolverines (11-10-1) earned the 12th seed in the West subregion and will travel to face the Hornets (13-4-4), the fifth seed in the Midwest subregion.

Polk County closed its regular season last week with a 4-2 upset loss at Madison. That loss, though, appears not to have affected the Wolverines’ seeding as Lincolnton (9-7-3) earned the 11th seed in the West and would have retained that seed even had Polk defeated Madison.

Salisbury won the Central Carolina Conference regular-season title, its 13th consecutive conference crown. The Hornets are led by Andrew Kalogeromitros (18 goals), who missed the team’s regular-season finale with an ankle injury but is expected back for Saturday’s match.

Western Highlands Conference champion Hendersonville (16-2) earned the third seed in the West subregion while Owen (11-6-3) earned the eighth seed.

First Flight (15-0-2, E1) vs. West Bladen (8-12-1, ME16)
East Bladen (14-5-1, ME8) vs. North Brunswick (11-7-3, E9)
Dixon (14-3-2, E5) vs. Midway (11-10-0, ME12)
North Johnston (16-5-2, ME4) vs. Northside-Jacksonville (9-11-1, E13)
Goldsboro (10-7-2, E3) vs. Graham (8-10-0, ME14)
Jordan-Matthews (19-1-0, ME6) vs. Greene Central (9-9-0, E11)
Roanoke Rapids (15-6-0, E7) vs. Franklinton (13-9-0, ME10)
Clinton (19-2-1, ME2) vs. Farmville Central (7-9-1, E15)
Bunn (17-1-2, ME1) vs. North Lenoir (7-10-0, E16)
North Pitt (14-6-0, E8) vs. South Columbus (9-4-2, ME9)
Red Springs (10-4-0, ME5) vs. Northeastern (8-9-1, E12)
Washington (18-2-0, E4) vs. Durham School of the Arts (10-11-2, ME13)
Carrboro (14-3-3, ME3) vs. John A. Holmes (9-11-1, E14)
Currituck County (11-4-0, E6) vs. Southern Vance (12-10-0, ME11)
NC School of Science & Math (13-4-2, ME7) vs. Croatan (10-10-0, E10)
East Duplin (14-2-3, E2) vs. St. Pauls (8-10-0, ME15)
Newton-Conover (21-0-0, W1) vs. East Lincoln (8-11-2, MW16)
North Surry (15-5-2, MW8) vs. West Caldwell (13-8-1, W9)
Ashe County (16-7-0, W5) vs. Providence Grove (9-5-3, MW12)
Monroe (14-5-1, MW4) vs. Smoky Mountain (9-12-2, W13)
Hendersonville (16-2-0, W3) vs. West Stokes (9-10-1, MW14)
Surry Central (17-4-1, MW6) vs. Lincolnton (9-7-3, W11)
Wilkes Central (13-7-1, W7) vs. Lexington (13-7-3, MW10)
Lake Norman Charter (17-1-0, MW2) vs. Maiden (8-13-2, W15)
Forbush (23-0-1, MW1) vs. Draughn (8-13-0, W16)
Charles D. Owen (11-6-3, W8) vs. Thomasville (11-5-1, MW9)
Salisbury (13-4-4, MW5) vs. Polk County (11-10-1, W12)
Franklin (13-9-0, W4) vs. West Stanly (10-9-3, MW13)
Trinity (18-3-1, MW3) vs. R-S Central (9-12-0, W14)
Shelby (16-2-2, W6) vs. Central Academy (13-8-3, MW11)
Forest Hills (17-5-0, MW7) vs. Bunker Hill (10-7-4, W10)
Chase (17-1-0, W2) vs. Eastern Randolph (8-10-0, MW15)