Polk Middle’s Donte Tingling, right, earned a win in Monday’s match

Two days later, Polk Middle wrestlers secure historic win

It took a couple of days to make official a historic victory for Polk County Middle’s wrestling program.

The Wolverines earned a 55-54 win Monday over Hendersonville Middle, though the final result remained in doubt until a Blue Ridge Conference ruling on Wednesday morning.

The win is the first for Polk County Middle over a Henderson County school in six years.

The teams finished Monday’s match tied at 54-54. To break the tie, the teams turned to a series of tiebreaking criteria. Initially, Hendersonville Middle was deemed to have won based on the third tiebreaker, that being the team who had the fewest match points lost to unsportsmanlike conduct penalties.

That decision deemed technicalities such as illegal holds as unsportsmanlike penalties. Polk County Middle staff filed a protect stating that those shouldn’t be counted as unsportsmanlike calls.

Blue Ridge Conference officials agreed with Polk Middle, and the match was eventually decided on the ninth tiebreaker, that being the team with the greater number of first points scored.

Four Wolverines – Jacob Ed, Topher Pearson, Luke Miller and John Wright – won their matches to remain unbeaten this season. Polk Middle’s Conner Davis recorded a pin at 220 pounds to end the match and force the tie.

The Wolverines return to the mat on Thursday, hosting Flat Rock.

Polk County Middle 55, Hendersonville Middle 54
Polk Middle results only

76: Brinson Ashworth lost by pin
83: Nathan Prince won by pin
90: Carson Bell lost by pin
98: Aaron Jackson lost by pin
106: Topher Pearson won by pin
113: Shatter Johnson won by pin
120: Jacob Ed won by pin
126: Donte Tingling won by pin
132: Justin Mendoza lost by pin
138: Aaron Morrison lost by pin
145: Forfeit
152: John Wright won by pin
160: Charles Jackson lost by pin
170: Luke Miller won by pin
182: Kole Powell lost by pin
195: Conner Cantwell lost by pin
220: Conner Davis won by pin
285: Jaiden McGill won by forfeit