Polk County's Jacob Ed was one of six Wolverines to reach the championship round at Saturday's War Eagle Invitaitonal

Polk County brought home its first tournament title in quite some time, winning the War Eagle Invitational held Saturday at East Henderson High School.

The Wolverines topped a 16-team field, finishing 22 points ahead of Tuscola. East Henderson, Swain and North Buncombe rounded out the top five.

Polk had two individual champions, with Efrain Rivera winning the 106-pound class and Jadyn Virgil taking the 215-pound class. West Henderson’s Justin Reyes suffered an injury default in the 106 final to give Rivera the win while Virgil pinned East Henderson’s Gabe Jones.

But the story of the day for the Wolverines was depth, with eight wrestlers claiming top-four finishes. Polk County placed six wrestlers in the championship round in their weight classes.

Wrestlers placing in the top four in addition to Rivera and Virgil included:

  • Brody Wolfe, 4th, 113
  • Amon Villarreal, 2nd, 120
  • Jacob Ed, 2nd, 150
  • Styler Blackwell, 2nd, 157
  • Zach McCraw, 3rd, 165
  • Zalen McCraw, 2nd, 175

Polk County is slated to return to the mat on Wednesday, traveling to East Henderson for a dual meet at 6 p.m.


Semifinal – Efrain Rivera (Polk County) p. David Summey (Hendersonville) (Fall 2:26)
1st Place Match – Efrain Rivera won by injury default over Justin Reyes (West Henderson)

Quarterfinal – Brody Wolfe (Polk County) p. Colt Maxwell (Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy) (Fall 3:46)
Semifinal – Alexander May (Hendersonville) p. Brody Wolfe (Fall 2:38)
Cons. Semi – Brody Wolfe d. Kyce Cook (Smoky Mountain), 4-0
3rd Place Match – Colt Maxwell d. Brody Wolfe, 7-3

Champ. Round 1 – Amon Villarreal (Polk County) p. Andrew Enberg (Smoky Mountain) (Fall 1:14)
Quarterfinal – Amon Villarreal p. Aydan Mull (Tuscola) (Fall 3:51)
Semifinal – Amon Villarreal maj. dec. Matthew Barton (Rosman), 10-2
1st Place Match – Ivan Valdez (North Buncombe) won in overtime over Amon Villarreal (OT 20-18)

Champ. Round 1 – Aydan Mull (Tuscola) p. Jaxtyn Virgil (Polk County) (Fall 1:21)
Cons. Round 1 – Jaxtyn Virgil p. Andrew Enberg (Smoky Mountain) Fall 1:31)
Cons. Round 2 – Jaxtyn Virgil maj. dec. Andrae Aguilera (Swain County), 13-3
Cons. Round 3 – Jaxtyn Virgil p. Alex Simcsuk (East Henderson) (Fall 3:57)
Cons. Semi – Matthew Barton (Rosman) p. Jaxtyn Virgil (Fall 2:00)

Champ. Round 1 – Aiden Billings (Polk County) p. Tobias Walker (Smoky Mountain) (Fall 1:30)
Quarterfinal – Aiden Billings p. Elijah Gorff (North Buncombe) (Fall 1:27)
Semifinal – John Bryson Perkins (Owen) p. Aiden Billings (Fall 2:32)
Cons. Semi – Ryan Kinter (Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy) p. Aiden Billings (Fall 2:20)

Champ. Round 1 – Cooper Williamson (Tuscola) p. Christian Montejo (Polk County) (Fall 0:54)
Cons. Round 1 – Josef Gorff (North Buncombe) p. Christian Montejo (Fall 2:06)

Champ. Round 1 – Jake McCrimmon (West Henderson) d. Mykah Hills (Polk County), 7-3
Cons. Round 2 – Mykah Hills p. Thomas Russell (Owen)(Fall 0:58)
Cons. Round 3 – Jakeb Manus (Madison) p. Mykah Hills (Fall 2:11)

Quarterfinal – Jacob Ed (Polk County) p. Brendan Lewis (Hendersonville) (Fall 1:45)
Semifinal – Jacob Ed p. Samuel Calton (Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy) (Fall 1:16)
1st Place Match – Owen Craig (Swain County) d. Jacob Ed (Polk County), 3-2

Champ. Round 1 – Styler Blackwell (Polk County) p. Hunter Cole (Smoky Mountain) (Fall 0:46)
Quarterfinal – Styler Blackwell p. Gabe Coffey (North Buncombe) (Fall 3:26)
Semifinal – Styler Blackwell p. Jesse Phillips (Brevard)(Fall 3:41)
1st Place Match – Tony Delgado (West Henderson) p. Styler Blackwell (Fall 0:00)

Champ. Round 1 – Zach McCraw (Polk County) p. PC Chambers (Oak Hill Academy) (Fall 0:52)
Quarterfinal – Chase Hillis (Tuscola) p. Zach McCraw (Polk County) (Fall 3:23)
Cons. Round 2 – Zach McCraw p. Alex Martinez (Smoky Mountain) (Fall 2:02)
Cons. Round 3 – Zach McCraw p. James Center (Owen) (Fall 1:57)
Cons. Semi – Zach McCraw d. William Jenkins (Blue Ridge), 8-4
3rd Place Match – Zach McCraw maj. dec. Drake Marshall (Madison), 13-5

Quarterfinal – Zalen McCraw (Polk County) p. Anuar Araujo (Tuscola) (Fall 0:51)
Semifinal – Zalen McCraw d. Max Shelton (Madison), 7-4
1st Place Match – Clay Seagle (Swain County) d. Zalen McCraw, 7-5

Champ. Round 1 – Kaden Vanderploeg d. Weston Alberry (Franklin), 5-1
Quarterfinal – John Moore (Owen) p. Kaden Vanderploeg (Fall 2:53)
Cons. Round 2 – Kaden Vanderploeg p. Moke Tafoya (Smoky Mountain) (Fall 0:30)
Cons. Round 3 – Kaden Vanderploeg d. Samuel Curtis (Rosman), 5-2
Cons. Semi – Max Shelton (Madison) p. Kaden Vanderploeg (Fall 0:34)

Quarterfinal – Jadyn Virgil (Polk County) p. Rio Obispo (Owen) (Fall 1:30)
Semifinal – Jadyn Virgil p. Kevin Saldana (Hendersonville) (Fall 0:16)
1st Place Match – Jadyn Virgil p. Gabe Jones (East Henderson)


Quarterfinal – Grace Settles (Polk County) d. Nicole Mejia (East Henderson), 11-5
Semifinal – West Andrina (Madison) p. Grace Settles (Fall 1:11)
Cons. Semi – Jany Echeverria (Swain County) p. Grace Settles (Fall 2:54)