Polk County's Bryson Rickman prepares to finish his match with East Henderson's Bryan Olgwa during Tuesday's matchup

Wolverine wrestlers pin Mitchell, fall to East Henderson in tri-match

As Polk County prepares to leave the Western Highlands Conference, the Wolverine wrestling program is heading out on a high note.

Polk picked up another WHC victory on Tuesday, defeating Mitchell 60-24 during a home tri-match. East Henderson topped Polk 54-27 in a non-conference match in the Wolverines’ other outing of the evening.

Polk improved to 6-8 overall, 3-1 in WHC matches. The Wolverines received four forfeits against Mitchell, but also received pins from Saxton Tickle, Bryson Rickman, Satchel McCoy, Collier Foster, Bryson McCraw and Charlie Jackson.

Rickman and McCoy returned to the mat in the nightcap and also again earned wins by fall. Jacob Knighton added a victory by pin while Bryson McCraw earned a thrilling 8-7 win at 152 pounds, picking up a late point due to a technical violation that gave him the upper hand in an active match.

The Wolverines are slated to wrap up the first half of their conference schedule on Friday, traveling to Mountain Heritage. Polk is also scheduled to wrestle Bradford Academy in a non-conference match.

Polk County’s Logan Rhodes squares off with East Henderson’s Nick Lyons

Polk County 60, Mitchell 24
106: Tori Strickland (PC) by forfeit
113: Saxton Tickle (PC) p. Shilo Brandt
120: Bryson Rickman (PC) p. Trenton Street
126: Satchel McCoy (PC) p. Cody Huges
132: Mason Hewitt (M) by forfeit
138: Collier Foster (PC) p. Adrian Mores
145: Carson Phillips (M) p. Deaken Nodine
152: Devin Hughes (M) p. Nathan Foster
160: Bryson McCraw (PC) p. Jayden Burleson
170: Logan Rhodes (PC) by forfeit
182: Jacob Knighton (PC) by forfeit
195: Charlie Jackson (PC) p. Camron Cook
220: Chris Wilmoth (PC) by forfeit
HWT: Jeremiah Greene (M) by forfeit

East Henderson 54, Polk County 27
106: Tori Strickland (PC) by forfeit
113: Brody Mathis (EH) p. Saxton Tickle
120: Bryson Rickman (PC) p. Bryan Olgwa
126: Satchel McCoy (PC) p. Ethan Heatherly
132: Grant Maybin (EH) by forfeit
138: Nathan Green (EH) p. Collier Foster
145: Rocky Robeldo (EH) p. Deaken Nodine
152: Bryson McCraw (PC) d. Wesley Murray, 8-7
160: Tucker Marshal (EH) by forfeit
170: Jacob Knighton (PC) p. Josh Lyons
182: Nick Lyons (EH) p. Logan Rhodes
195: Brandon Morgan (EH) p. Chris Wilmoth
220: Brandon Langford (EH) p. Charlie Jackson
HWT: Nathan Byrnside (EH) by forfeit