Polk County's Tori Strickland placed fourth in the 2021 Great Smoky Mountain Grapple

Polk’s Strickland, Virgil score top-five finishes at Great Smoky Mountain Grapple

Polk County’s Jayden Virgil and Tori Strickland each brought home top-five finishes from the 2021 Great Smoky Mountain Grapple in Asheville.

Virgil reached the championship semifinals in the boys 170-pound class before falling to Central Academy’s Aiden Curry, a two-time state champion who is undefeated this season.

Virgil dropped his first consolation match, but rebounded to decision McDowell’s Bruin Lytle and finish in fifth place.

Strickland, wrestling in the girls 106-pound division, won her first two matches of the day by falls to reach the consolation final, where she lost to Jenna Baines of Greeneville (Tenn.) and finished fourth in the class.

Wrestlers from almost 30 schools competed in the event held at Harrah’s Cherokee Center.

Robbinsville finished as the boys team champion with West Henderson winning the girls team title.

Polk County is slated to travel Tuesday to Kings Mountain to take part in a quad meet to conclude its pre-Christmas schedule.

Saturday’s Results
Boys Varsity

Cons. Round 3 – Collier Foster (PC) maj. dec. Ben Helton (Maryville), 8-0
Cons. Round 4 – Collier Foster d. Maykol Santi (North Buncombe), 7-4
Cons. Round 5 – Adam Cotterman (Swain County) d. Collier Foster, 9-3

Quarterfinal – Greyson Harris (Enka) p. Bryson McCraw (PC)
Cons. Round 4 – Bryson McCraw tech. fall Israel Ferguson (Swain County), 18-2
Cons. Round 5 – Willie Riddle (Robbinsville) d. Bryson McCraw, 10-3

Quarterfinal – Jaydyn Virgil (PC) p. Bruin Lytle (McDowell)
Semifinal – Aiden Curry (Central Academy of Technology and Arts) p. Jaydyn Virgil
Cons. Semi – Gabriel Lillard (Swain County) p. Jaydyn Virgil
5th Place Match – Jaydyn Virgil d. Bruin Lytle (McDowell), 11-6

Girls Varsity

Cons. Round 3 – Tori Strickland (PC) p. Selu Swayner (Cherokee)
Cons. Semi – Tori Strickland p. Caitlyn Graham (Mitchell)
3rd Place Match – Jenna Baines (Greeneville) p. Tori Strickland

Boys Junior Varsity
Champ. Round 1 – Logan Hyde (Robbinsville) tech. fall over Adison Broyles (PC), 16-0
Cons. Round 1 – Adison Broyles d. Nicolas Popescu (Science Hill), 12-7
Cons. Round 2 – Jesse Williams (Robbinsville) p. Adison Broyles

Champ. Round 2 – Gaige Watson (West Henderson) p. Logan Nodine (PC)
Cons. Round 3 – Colin Hoyle (Swain County) p. Logan Nodine

Champ. Round 2 – Max Bailey (Brevard) maj. dec. Shatter Johnson (PC), 13-3
Cons. Round 3 – Shatter Johnson p. Zephaniah Cunningham (Hoke County)
Cons. Round 4 – Chance Forrester (Maryville) p. Shatter Johnson

Quarterfinal – Dakota Ridings (PC) won by fall over Matthew Ferguson (Swain County)
Semifinal – Majesty Summey (McDowell) p. Dakota Ridings
Cons. Semi – Victor Quebrado (North Henderson) won by medical forfeit over Dakota Ridings