Polk County freshman wrestler Zalen McCraw

Polk County wrestlers brought home a handful of top-four showings Saturday from the Smoky Mountain Grapple at Harrah’s Cherokee Center in Asheville.

The Grapple featured more than 30 teams from four states, each competing Friday and Saturday in junior varsity boys, varsity boys and varsity girls tournaments. Uwharrie Charter Academy nipped Newton-Conover to win the boys varsity team title, with North Henderson topping Science Hill (Tenn.) to claim the girls title.

For Polk County, Megan Allison scored a third-place finish in the 138-pound girls class, with Jaydn Virgil battling through the consolation bracket to claim fourth at 182 pounds. Polk County freshman Kam Montgomery brought home a class win at 220 pounds in the junior varsity tournament.

Myka Hills, Isaiah Wilmoth and Tanner McKinney all earned fourth-place showings in their classes in the JV field.

Polk County wrestlers will travel Tuesday to North Henderson to compete in a quad match with the Knights, Hendersonville and Franklin.


Champ. Round 1 – Kaeli Cross (Science Hill (Girls)) p. Grace Settles (Polk County)
Cons. Round 2 – Avery Wilson (Dorman) p. Grace Settles

Quarterfinal – Kierra Rush (Hoke County) p. Megan Allison (Polk County)
Cons. Round 1 – Megan Allison p. Isabella McCall (Maryville (Girls))
Cons. Semi – Megan Allison p. Madyson Bethea (Maryville (Girls))
3rd Place Match – Megan Allison p. Nancy Perez-Ortega


Champ. Round 1 – Amon Villarreal (Polk County) tech fall Laine O`Brien (A C Reynolds), 18-3
Champ. Round 2 – Coen Lovin (Maryville) p. Amon Villarreal
Cons. Round 2 – Amon Villarreal (Polk County) won in sudden victory – 1 over Noah Burke (Mitchell), (SV-1 6-4)
Cons. Round 3 – Brady Mathis (East Henderson) p. Amon Villarreal

Champ. Round 2 – Gunner Marshall (East Henderson) p. Aiden Billings (Polk County)
Cons. Round 3 – Bryson Wilhjelm (Science Hill) p. Aiden Billings

Champ. Round 1 – Carson Bell (Polk County) p. Bryan Olguia (East Henderson)
Champ. Round 2 – Aldo Hernandez (Uwharrie Charter Academy) p. Carson Bell
Cons. Round 2 – Arden Gittings (T C Roberson) p. Carson Bell

Champ. Round 1 – Nate Guerrero (North Henderson) d. Logan Nodine, 7-1
Cons. Round 2 – Randall Austin Jenkins (Swain County) p. Logan Nodine

Champ. Round 1 – Jaime Beck (Science Hill) p. Zalen McCraw (Polk County)
Cons. Round 2 – Zalen McCraw (Polk County) p. Carlson Kilcrease
Cons. Round 3 – Caiden Rowe (Newton Conover) p. Zalen McCraw

Champ. Round 2 – Jadyn Virgil (Polk County) d. Caleb Louchez (Newton Conover), 8-2
Quarterfinal – Chi Anderson (Jones County) p. Jadyn Virgil
Cons. Round 4 – Jadyn Virgil p. Mitchell Knepp
Cons. Round 5 – Jadyn Virgil p. Douglas Deshazo
Cons. Semi – Jadyn Virgil p. Lucas Sutton (Swain County)
3rd Place Match – Jeshua Whited (Rosman) d. Jadyn Virgil, 10-5

Champ. Round 1 – Irbin Villafuerte (West Henderson) p. Dakota Ridings
Cons. Round 2 – Diego Rosas-Ruiz won by forfeit over Dakota Ridings

Champ. Round 1 – Obed Najera (Polk County) p. Jack Dellinger (Cherryville
Champ. Round 2 – Joseph Lioret-Tutty (Newton Conover) maj. dec. Obed Najera, 8-0
Cons. Round 2 – Joseph Rodriguez (Chapel Hill) p. Obed Najera

Champ. Round 1 – Daniel Gath (Enka) p. Kendall McEntyre (Polk County)
Cons. Round 2 – AJ Phillips (Walhalla) p. Kendall McEntyre


Quarterfinal – Moo Loh (Chapel Hill) p. Myka Hills (Polk County)
Cons. Semi – Myka Hills d. Grayson Brigman, 4-0
3rd Place Match – Porter Allen (East Henderson) p. Myka Hills

Semifinal – Jack Carr (Jones County) d. Isaiah Wilmoth, 7-0
3rd Place Match – William Tanner Moore (Swain County) d. Isaiah Wilmoth, 9-3

Semifinal – Coleman Jones (Enka) p. Tanner McKinney (Polk County)
3rd Place Match – David Reed (Science Hill) p. Tanner McKinney

Semifinal – Kam Montgomery (Polk County) p. Owen Ruiz (West Henderson)
1st Place Match – Kam Montgomery p. Brandon Jimenez (Asheville)

Quarterfinal – Lucas Johnson (Polk County) p. Jordan Lopoez (Central Academy of Technology and Arts)
Semifinal – Justin Harris (Cherryville) p. Lucas Johnson
Cons. Semi – Haiden Cox (Science Hill) p. Lucas Johnson