Polk County's Shatter Johnson placed fourth in the 138-pound JV division at the Falcon Frenzy

Polk County wrestlers took part in their toughest test of the season to date on Friday and Saturday, competing in the Falcon Frenzy at West Henderson.

Wrestlers from 26 schools in three states competed in the event, with more than 10 of the teams ranked in either North Carolina or Tennessee.

Polk County placed 19th in the team standings, with Robbinsville winning the event, followed by North Henderson and Enka.

The Wolverines had two second-place finishers, with Tori Strickland the runner-up in the 106-pound class in the girls division and Chris Wilmoth placing second at 195 pounds in the boys junior varsity division.

In the boys varsity field, Collier Foster wrestled to a fifth-place showing at 138 pounds and Bryson McCraw earned a sixth-place finish at 152 pounds. Shatter Johnson added a fourth-place showing in the 138-pound junior varsity field.

Polk County is slated to be back in action on Wednesday, traveling to North Henderson for a tri-match with the Knights and Smoky Mountain.

Champ. Round 2 – Austin Mathis (Chase) p. Carter Wade
Cons. Round 5 – Justin Reyes (West Henderson) p. Carter Wade

Champ. Round 2 – Satchel McCoy (PC) 10-4 won by injury default over Jude Reitzel (Asheville High)
Quarterfinal – Damon Landreth (West Henderson) tech. fall Satchel McCoy, 16-1
Cons. Round 4 – Satchel McCoy won by forfeit over Arden Gittings (T C Roberson)
Cons. Round 5 – Marcus Smith (Gibbs) d. Satchel McCoy, 7-2

Champ. Round 2 – Collier Foster (PC) maj. dec. Jacob Ed (West Henderson), 9-1
Quarterfinal – Xander Hill (Pisgah) p. Collier Foster
Cons. Round 4 – Collier Foster p. Hunter Poturaj (East Henderson)
Cons. Round 5 – Collier Foster p. Robert Cleto (North Henderson)
Cons. Semi – Zane Lucksavage (Robbinsville) 13-4 p. Collier Foster
5th Place Match – Collier Foster won by injury default over Walker Mains (Hendersonville)

Champ. Round 2 – Bryson McCraw (PC) p. Petre Romeo (Erwin)
Quarterfinal – Stone Shapiro (North Buncombe) p. Bryson McCraw
Cons. Round 4 – Bryson McCraw tech. fall over Nathan Stockton (Brevard), 19-4
Cons. Round 5 – Bryson McCraw won in sudden victory – 1 over Boston Duval (T C Roberson), SV-1 9-7
Cons. Semi – Dennis Waters (Hendersonville) d. Bryson McCraw, 7-3
5th Place Match – Willie Riddle (Robbinsville) 11-6 p. Bryson McCraw

Champ. Round 1 – Ian Corbett (T C Roberson) p. Deaken Nodine (PC)
Cons. Round 2 – Zachary Larson (Gibbs) d. Deaken Nodine, 11-6

Champ. Round 2 – Jacob Stockton (Brevard) p. Logan Rhodes (PC)
Cons. Round 4 – Logan Rhodes won by forfeit over Chico Vega (North Henderson)
Cons. Round 5 – Bruin Lytle (McDowell) 16-5 p. Logan Rhodes

Champ. Round 2 – Jaydyn Virgil (PC) p. Da’quan Pretrick (Asheville High)
Quarterfinal – Alex Almaraz (Pisgah) p. Jaydyn Virgil
Cons. Round 4 – Felix Montiel (North Henderson) d. Jaydyn Virgil, 4-0

Champ. Round 2 – Tytus Bridges (Pisgah) d. John Wright, 8-5
Cons. Round 3 – John Wright (PC) p. Jake Willis (Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy)
Cons. Round 4 – Jesse Barrier (McDowell) p. John Wright

Semifinal – Tori Strickland (Polk County) p. Savannah Cunningham (Swain County)
1st Place Match – Jamie Hearl (Mt Airy) p. Tori Strickland

Quarterfinal – Devon Rutherford (Asheville High) p. Shatter Johnson (PC)
Cons. Round 1 – Shatter Johnson d. Max Bailey (Brevard), 5-3
Cons. Semi – Shatter Johnson p. Sasha Bickford (Asheville High)
3rd Place Match – Gaige Watson (West Henderson) maj. dec. Shatter Johnson, 13-2

Quarterfinal – Diego Luna (Erwin) maj. dec. Brayden Gartzman (PC), 12-0
Cons. Round 2 – Avan Hinkle (Brevard) d. Brayden Gartzman, 4-3

Quarterfinal – Quintin Forbes (Rosman) p. Gabe Towne (PC)
Cons. Round 3 – Christopher Byers (Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy) tech. fall Gabe Towne, 16-0

Quarterfinal – Chris Wilmoth (PC) p. Cole Campbell (McDowell)
Semifinal – Chris Wilmoth p. Benjamin Angola (Gibbs)
1st Place Match – Kenyon Peek (North Buncombe) d, Chris Wilmoth, 9-4