Polk wrestlers go 2-1 in quad meet at Chase

Polk County’s wrestling team earned a pair of victories Tuesday, defeating Chase and East Rutherford in a quad meet at Chase.

The Wolverines picked up a 47-12 win over Chase and a 57-12 victory over East Rutherford. Polk County did fall 42-27 to East Henderson, and the Wolverines now have a dual match record of 9-5 this season.

Collier Foster, Preston Burnett, Brennan Worthington, Gage McSwain and Trey Thompson each went 3-0 for the evening.

The Wolverines are set to compete Friday and Saturday in the Smoky Mountain Grapple at the U.S. Cellular Center in Asheville.

Polk County 47, Chase 12
106: Tori Strickland (PC) p. Brandon Huaroco
113: Collier Foster (PC) tech. fall Ethan Salazar, 23-8
120: Double Forfeit
126: Satchel McCoy (PC) by forfeit
132: Hunter Dover (C) p. Deacon Nodine
138: Preston Burnett (PC) by forfeit
145: Double Forfeit
152: Brennan Worthington (PC) p. Charles Head
160: Double Forfeit
170: Daylon Lemmons (C) p. Jesus Urieta
182: Gage McSwain (PC) p. Bryce Elliott
195: Trey Thompson (PC) p. Preston Campfield
220: Double Forfeit
285: Harrison Waddell (PC) by forfeit

East Henderson 42, Polk County 27
106: Brady Mathis (EH) p. Tori Strickland
113: Double Forfeit
120: Collier Foster (PC) d. Zac Joyce, 6-5
126: Maybin Grant (EH) d. Satchel McCoy, 9-4
132: Nathan Green (EH) p. Deacon Nodine
138: Preston Burnett (PC) p. Jacob Mathis
145: Brennan Worthington (PC) p. Wesley Murray
152: Tanner Coggins (EH) d. Jacob Knighton, 6-0
160: Nick Lyons (EH) over (PC) by forfeit
170: Tucker Marshall (EH) p. Jesus Urieta
182: Gage McSwain (PC) p. Rocky Robledo
195: Trey Thompson (PC) p. Nathan Byrnside
220: Kade Stepp (EH) over (PC) by forfeit
285: Grayson Parker (EH) p. Harrison Waddell

Polk County 57, East Rutherford 12
106: Tori Strickland (PC) by forfeit
113: Collier Foster (PC) by forfeit
120: Clayton Wright (ER) by forfeit
126: Satchel McCoy (PC) by forfeit
132: Preston Burnett (PC) p. Ray Chino
138: Denzel Lowrance (ER) by forfeit
145: Joseph Scoggins (ER) by forfeit
152: Brennan Worthington (PC) p. Alan Lopez
160: Jacob Knighton (PC) p. Gabe Mathis
170: Jesus Urieta (PC) d. Michael Miller, 10-6
182: Calvin Jones (ER)
195: Gage McSwain (PC) p. Nesean Robinson
220: Trey Thompson (PC) p. Zachary Saraga
285: Harrison Waddell (PC) p. Jarcee Woods

Community Partners