Polk County's Grace Settles

Polk County may not earn an automatic berth to the state 2A dual team wrestling playoffs this season.

But the Wolverines showed Tuesday the continued growth in their program that has them on the cusp of doing so.

Polk dropped a narrow 39-36 decision at Hendersonville, the Wolverines suffering their first Mountain Foothills 7 Conference loss of the season. Polk also defeated conference foe Patton 67-12 in the tri-match, though that encounter was not counted as a league meeting.

Polk County (13-13, 4-1) still has a match next week with conference leader R-S Central and could force a three-way tie for the regular-season title with a victory there. The top two teams in the conference earn 2A automatic playoff berths, with only one wild-card available for all teams in the 2A West region.

“We showed great effort, and even though we lost, we showed that we deserve to compete against tough programs,” said Polk County wrestling coach Thomas Hensley. “We will continue to work hard and improve.”

120: Alex Martin (PC) maj. dec. Leland Carroll, 12-4
126: Amon Villarreal (PC) tech. fall Donnie Black, 16-0
132: Shatter Johnson (PC) by forfeit
138: Carson Bell (PC) by forfeit
145: Walker Mains (H) p. Mykah Hills
152: Dennis Waters (H) p. Logan Nodine
160: Zalen McCraw (PC) p. Chaz Johnson
170: Alex Ashley (H) by forfeit
182: Jaydn Virgil (PC) by forfeit
195: Alex Maximov (H) p. Lucas Johnson
220: Obed Najera (PC) d. Reece Wilson, 3-2
285: Eli Kole-Davis (H) d. Kendall McEntyre, 1-0
106: Daniel Reyes (H) by forfeit
113: Alexander May (H) p. Carter Wade

106: Grace Settles (PC) by forfeit
113: Carter Wade (PC) by forfeit
120: Amon Villarreal (PC) p. Parker Winters
126: Aiden Billings (PC) p. Luke Parker
132: Shatter Johnson (PC) by forfeit
138: Carson Bell (PC) by forfeit
145: Logan Nodine (PC) p. Caleb Clark
152: Burke Wilson (PA) p. Mykah Hills
160: Zalen McCraw (PC) maj. dec. Nicholas Parlier, 13-0
170: Anthony Ramirez (PA) by forfeit
182: Jaydn Virgil (PC) over Kamden Stephens, 7-5
195: Lucas Johnson (PC) by forfeit
220: Obed Najera (PC) p. Brayan Romero
285: Kendall McEntyre (PC) by forfeit