MF7 wrestling tourney: Polk scores six individual titles, team championship

In the wake of Polk County’s recent loss at R-S Central, head wrestling coach Thomas Hensley offered a simple prediction.

“I think we have a good shot to win the conference tournament,” he said.

Prophetic, that statement proved.

The Wolverines did indeed win the team title at Saturday’s Mountain Foothills 7 Conference Tournament, becoming the first Polk County program to win an MF7 tournament title and earning the first conference tournament crown in wrestling since 2011.

Polk County delivered its title thanks in large part to six individual champions. That total is believed to be the most for the program at a conference tournament since 1990, when the Wolverines won nine titles at the Appalachian 1A Conference meet.

Polk’s 213.5 team points easily topped R-S Central’s 164.5. Brevard finished third.

The six Wolverines scoring conference titles included two freshmen – Efrain Rivera (106) and Zach McCraw (165) – and two sophomores – Amon Villarreal (120) and Zalen McCraw (175). Junior Jacob Ed (144) and senior Jadyn Virgil (215) brought home the other championships.

Ten of Polk County’s 14 wrestlers who competed Saturday are either freshmen or sophomores.

Sophomore Carson Bell reached the tournament finals for the second straight season and earned a runner-up spot at 150. The Wolverines also got third-place efforts from Brody Wolfe, Aiden Billings, Styler Blackwell and Luke Miller.

Semifinal – Efrain Rivera (Polk County) tech fall David Summey (Hendersonville), 17-2
1st Place Match – Efrain Rivera p. Marcus Short (East Rutherford) (Fall 2:51)

Semifinal – Sam Gosnell (R-S Central) d. Brody Wolfe (Polk County), 11-4
3rd Place Match – Brody Wolfe p. Austen Taylor (Brevard) (Fall 2:35)

Semifinal – Amon Villarreal (Polk County) tech fall Cayden Marshall (Patton), 15-0
1st Place Match – Amon Villarreal maj. dec. Eli Warren (R-S Central), 16-3

Quarterfinal – Aiden Billings (Polk County) p. Davis Holland (Brevard) (Fall 0:43)
Semifinal – Alex Lopez (R-S Central) p. Aiden Billings (Fall 5:21)
Cons. Semi – Aiden Billings p. Leland Carroll (Hendersonville) (Fall 4:16)
3rd Place Match – Aiden Billings won by medical forfeit over Alex Lane (East Rutherford)

Quarterfinal – Conner Ahlert (Polk County) p. Chris Morrow (Chase) (Fall 2:00)
Semifinal – Ezekiel McGrade (Hendersonville) d, Conner Ahlert, 5-4
Cons. Semi – Conner Ahlert p. Brennen Meise (Patton) (Fall 2:31)
3rd Place Match – Cole Cubbison (Brevard) d. Conner Ahlert, 6-2

Quarterfinal – Shatter Johnson (Polk County) p. Ezra Wood (Hendersonville) (Fall 1:14)
Semifinal – Luke Parker (Patton) p. Shatter Johnson (Fall 1:48)
3rd Place Match – Carlo Colombo (Brevard) p. Shatter Johnson (Fall 4:41)

Semifinal – Jacob Ed (Polk County) p. Jonah Gregory (Patton) (Fall 3:12)
1st Place Match – Jacob Ed (Polk County) tech fall Isaiah Granja-Sosa (East Rutherford), 16-0

Semifinal – Carson Bell (Polk County) p. Burke Wilson (Patton) (Fall 3:24)
1st Place Match – Caleb Cox (R-S Central) p. Carson Bell (Fall 1:09)

Quarterfinal – Styler Blackwell (Polk County) p. Hunter Luckadoo (Chase) (Fall 0:45)
Semifinal – Elijiah Guzman (R-S Central) d. Styler Blackwell, 3-1
Cons. Semi – Styler Blackwell p. Isaac Henderson (Hendersonville) (Fall 1:54)
3rd Place Match – Styler Blackwell p. Cavan Sullivano (Patton) (Fall 3:57)

Semifinal – Zachary McCraw (Polk County) p. Henry Hamrick (R-S Central) (Fall 0:57)
1st Place Match – Zachary McCraw p. Caleb Clark (Patton) (Fall 3:01)

Semifinal – Zalen McCraw (Polk County) maj. dec. Jordan Baxter (Chase), 11-3
1st Place Match – Zalen McCraw d. Koltt McCall (Brevard), 5-3

Semifinal – Jacob Hudgins (R-S Central) p. Luke Miller (Polk County) (Fall 1:57)
Cons. Semi – Luke Miller p. John Rich (East Rutherford) (Fall 3:37)
3rd Place Match – Luke Miller d. Seth Walker (Chase) 4-5 (Dec 6-1)

Semifinal – Jadyn Virgil (Polk County) p. Isaiah Greene (Patton) (Fall 1:12)
1st Place Match – Jadyn Virgil p. Cameron Bradley (Chase) (Fall 0:47)

Quarterfinal – Kendall Mcentyre (R-S Central) p. Lucas Johnson (Polk County) (Fall 0:22)
Cons. Semi – Ayden Corbin (Brevard) p. Lucas Johnson (Fall 5:40)

Related Articles