Polk County's Collier Foster swept his weight class at the 2021 Big Dog Invitational

Foster, McCraw win classes at Big Dog Invitational

Polk County’s Collier Foster and Bryson McCraw each earned individual titles Saturday at the 2021 Big Dog Invitational wrestling tournament at Burns High School.

With seven teams in the field, weight classes were contested in a round-robin format, and Foster and McCraw each finished 5-0 to win their respective classes.

Foster had one of the top matches of the day, recording a sudden victory triumph over Burns’ John David Curtis. It was the first loss of the season for Curtis.

McCraw had just one close match in claiming the 152-pound division, that a 7-4 decision over South Point’s Lawson Georgia.

Polk County also got a second-place effort from Deaken Nodine at 160 pounds and finished fourth in the seven-team field despite entering just seven wrestlers in the event. Pisgah, Burns and South Point claimed the top three spots.

The Wolverines are slated to be back in action on Tuesday, traveling to East Henderson for a tri-meet that includes East and Asheville.

Round 1 – Bryson Rickman (Polk County) p. Ariana Anderson (Burns)
Round 2 – Ryley Goble (South Point) p. Bryson Rickman
Round 3 – Adrian Fox (Chase) p. Bryson Rickman
Round 4 – Greyson Reece (Pisgah) p. Bryson Rickman

Round 1 – Jonathan Chapman (Pisgah) p. Shatter Johnson (Polk County)
Round 2 – Shatter Johnson p. Davon Marble (Shelby)
Round 3 – Shatter Johnson p. Jonathan Bradley (Chase)
Round 4 – Chase Wimbish (South Point) won by injury default over Shatter Johnson
Round 5 – Ezra Burns (Burns) 14-1 p. Shatter Johnson

Round 1 – Collier Foster (Polk County) p. Alex Pohle (South Point)
Round 2 – Collier Foster p. Eli Glavich (Pisgah)
Round 3 – Collier Foster maj. dec. Raymundo Chino (East Rutherford), 12-4
Round 4 – Collier Foster p. Alex Peacock (Chase)
Round 5 – Collier Foster won in sudden victory – 1 over John David Curtis (Burns) (SV-1 3-1)

Round 1 – Dom Shelton (South Point) p. Brayden Gartzman (Polk County)
Round 2 – Joseph Scoggins (East Rutherford) p. Brayden Gartzman
Round 3 – Xander Hill (Pisgah) p. Brayden Gartzman
Round 5 – Caiden Little (Chase) p. Brayden Gartzman

Round 1 – Bryson McCraw (Polk County) p. Nicholas Arrowood (East Rutherford)
Round 2 – Bryson McCraw p. Jared Bradley (Chase)
Round 3 – Bryson McCraw maj. dec. Conner Smith (Burns), 15-4
Round 4 – Bryson McCraw tech fall Cameron King (Pisgah), 23-6
Round 5 – Bryson McCraw d. Lawson Georgia (South Point), 7-4

Round 1 – Deaken Nodine (Polk County) won in sudden victory – 1 over Ethan Dellinger (South Point) (SV-1 3-1)
Round 2 – Deaken Nodine p. Mason Humphries
Round 3 – Jason McClellan (Pisgah) d. Deaken Nodine, 10-7
Round 5 – Deaken Nodine p. Edgar Loza (Shelby)

Round 1 – Cody Smith (Shelby) p. Chris Wilmoth (Polk County)
Round 2 – Thien Nguyen (South Point) p. Chris Wilmoth
Round 3 – Tytus Bridges (Pisgah) p. Chris Wilmoth
Round 4 – Gage Eubanks (Burns) p. Chris Wilmoth
Round 5 – Chris Wilmoth p. Colin Hanna (Chase)