Zalen McCraw is one of five Polk County wrestlers to move into the semifinals of the 1A West Regional

Five Polk County wrestlers advanced Friday to the semifinals of the 1A West Regional tourney in Robbinsville.

The Wolverine quartet – Efrain Rivera, Amon Villarreal, Jacob Ed, Zalen McCraw and Jadyn Virgil – moved into Saturday’s semifinals. Each of the five will need just one win, in semifinal or consolation matches, to clinch a top-four finish and advance to next week’s state tournament in Greensboro.

Eight other Polk County wrestlers remained alive in the consolation bracket and will look to fight their way into a top-four spot. Brody Wolfe, Aiden Billings, Carson Bell, Styler Blackwell and Luke Miller each earned first-round wins Friday before falling in the quarterfinal round.

The Wolverines finished the day in fourth place in the team standings. Robbinsville leads with 76 points, followed by Avery (71.5), Mount Airy (54) and Polk County (52).

Action begins Saturday at 8:30 a.m.

1A West Regional
Friday’s Polk County results

Quarterfinal – Efrain Rivera (Polk County) 40-1 maj. dec. Christopher Nuevo (Alleghany), 14-1

Champ. Round 1 – Brody Wolfe (Polk County) d. Chase Beasley (Andrews), 13-7
Quarterfinal – Cooper Foster (Avery County) p. Brody Wolfe (Fall 1:47)

Champ. Round 1 – Amon Villarreal (Polk County) p. Josiah Roehm (Andrews) (Fall 3:05)
Quarterfinal – Amon Villarreal d. King Orvosh (Avery County), 12-10

Champ. Round 1 – Aiden Billings (Polk County) p. Ryan Kinter (Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy) (Fall 2:40)
Quarterfinal – Loxston Hooper (Robbinsville) p. Aiden Billings (Fall 1:47)

Champ. Round 1 – Benjamin Jordan (Avery County) p. Carter Wade (Polk County) (Fall 1:08)

Champ. Round 1 – Lleyton Hooper (Robbinsville) p. Shatter Johnson (Polk County) (Fall 2:53)

Champ. Round 1 – Carson Bell (Polk County) p. Cooper Parlier (Alleghany) (Fall 2:33)
Quarterfinal – Owen Craig (Swain County) tech. fall Carson Bell, 16-1

Champ. Round 1 – Jacob Ed (Polk County) p. Kristofer Ellis (Bessemer City) (Fall 1:38)
Quarterfinal – Jacob Ed p. Wesley Willey (East Wilkes) (Fall 1:17)

Champ. Round 1 – Styler Blackwell (Polk County) p. Jaidon Johnson (N.C. School for the Deaf) (Fall 0:22)
Quarterfinal – Roman Perna (Mountain Island Charter School) d. Styler Blackwell, 11-8

Champ. Round 1 – William Sheffield (Rosman) p. Zach McCraw (Polk County) (Fall 4:25)

Champ. Round 1 – Zalen McCraw (Polk County) p. Hayden Virtanen (Andrews) (Fall 0:40)
Quarterfinal – Zalen McCraw p. Michel Gayosso (Cherokee) (Fall 1:25)

Champ. Round 1 – Luke Miller (Polk County) maj. dec. Luka Zrnich (Mountain Island Charter School), 15-4
Quarterfinal – Camron Cook (Mitchell) p. Luke Miller (Fall 1:12)

Champ. Round 1 – Jadyn Virgil (Polk County) p. Enriquez Andy (Rosman) (Fall 0:30)
Quarterfinal – Jadyn Virgil (Polk County) p. Connor Brinkley (Jimmy C. Draughn) (Fall 3:38)