Polk County's Donte Tingling is among the wrestlers who remain alive for the second day of the Great Smoky Mountain Grapple

Polk County’s Jacob Ed and Jadyn Virgil advanced to the semifinal round of the Great Smoky Mountain Grapple as the 30-team tournament opened Friday at Harrah’s Cherokee Center in Asheville.

Ed and Virgil each won two matches to move into Saturday’s semifinal round. At 150 pounds, Ed will face undefeated Lorenzo Alston of Uwharrie Charter Academy while at 215 pounds, Virgil will face Uwharrie’s Jason Maness.

The Grapple features teams from six states, each competing on eight mats sprawled across the Center floor. Action is set to begin Saturday at 8 a.m.

A number of Polk County wrestlers will compete in the consolation round, those including Efrain Rivera (106), Brody Wolfe (113), Amon Villarreal (120), Donte Tingling (157), Zachary McCraw (165) and Zalen McCraw (175).

Polk County finished the opening day in 12th place in the team scores. Alleghany, Robbinsville and Maryville (Tenn.) led the team standings after the opening day.


Champ. Round 1 – Grace Settles (Polk County) p. Angela Navarro (Fall 5:41)
Quarterfinal – Jany Echeverria (Swain County) p. Grace Settles (Fall 2:19)


Champ. Round 2 – Efrain Rivera (Polk County) p. Harper Thompson (McDowell) (Fall 1:46)
Quarterfinal – Ethan Hines (Uwharrie Charter Academy) d. Efrain Rivera, 6-3

Champ. Round 2 – Alexander May (Hendersonville) p. Brody Wolfe (Polk County) (Fall 1:14)
Cons. Round 3 – Brody Wolfe d. Saxon Mattison (Science Hill), 4-1

Champ. Round 1 – Amon Villarreal (Polk County) p. Mikey Clark (Union) (Fall 2:35)
Champ. Round 2 – Kail Burnette (Pisgah) p. Amon Villarreal (Fall 1:25)
Cons. Round 2 – Amon Villarreal p. Matthew Edwards (Panther Creek) (Fall 2:05)
Cons. Round 3 – Amon Villarreal d. Aiden Griswold (Dorman), 8-4

Champ. Round 2 – John Bryson Perkins (Owen) p. Aiden Billings (Polk County) (Fall 3:10)
Cons. Round 3 – Kale Stephenson (Swain County) p. Aiden Billings (Fall 2:54)

Champ. Round 1 – Blake McVey (Springdale Har-Ber) tech. fall Conner Ahlert (Polk County), 16-0
Cons. Round 2 – Jaden Kline (Hammond) d. Conner Ahlert, 4-2

Champ. Round 1 – Elisalde Roman (North Henderson) p. Shatter Johnson (Polk County) (Fall 5:00)
Cons. Round 2 – Dior Burns (Person) p. Shatter Johnson (Fall 2:24)

Champ. Round 2 – Jacob Ed (Polk County) p. Cooper Murray (Newton Conover) (Fall 1:40)
Quarterfinal – Jacob Ed (Polk County) d. Cade Woody (Madison), 5-4

Champ. Round 1 – Donte Tingling (Polk County) p. Barrett Potter (Avery County) (Fall 1:39)
Champ. Round 2 – Lucas Burress (Tuscola) d. Donte Tingling, 9-6
Cons. Round 2 – Donte Tingling d. Sergio Hewitt (Chapel Hill), 16-11
Cons. Round 3 – Donte Tingling p. William Tanner Moore (Swain County)(Fall 1:25)

Champ. Round 1 – Zachary McCraw (Polk County) p. James Arch (Swain County) (Fall 5:05)
Champ. Round 2 – Chase Hillis (Tuscola) p. Zachary McCraw (Fall 5:13)
Cons. Round 2 – Zachary McCraw p. Christopher Turpin (North Henderson) Fall 2:32)
Cons. Round 3 – Zachary McCraw p. Henry Hance (Science Hill) (Fall 2:33)

Champ. Round 2 – Zalen McCraw (Polk County) maj. dec. John Moore, 16-2
Quarterfinal – Terrell Edwards (Dorman) p. Zalen McCraw (Fall 1:51)

Champ. Round 1 – Dylan Phipps (Alleghany) p. Luke Miller (Polk County) (Fall 2:37)
Cons. Round 2 – Jaxon Metcalf (East Henderson) p. Luke Miller (Fall 4:10)

Champ. Round 2 – Jadyn Virgil (Polk County) p. Matthew Ferguson (Swain County) (Fall 1:51)
Quarterfinal – Jadyn Virgil p. Logan Moore (Union) (Fall 0:48)

Champ. Round 1 – MarcFrank Anang (Sun Valley) p. Lucas Johnson (Polk County) (Fall 0:43)
Cons. Round 2 – Lucas Johnson by forfeit over Alexander Caldwell (Tuscola)
Cons. Round 3 – Zakariyyah Lowe (A C Reynolds) p. Lucas Johnson (Fall 2:27)