Polk County's Haven Dufford picked up a key singles win on Tuesday.

A big conference match with Hendersonville on the horizon, Polk County’s girls tennis team has already notched two big non-conference wins this week.

The Wolverines defeated Enka 6-3 on Tuesday at Polk, that win coming on the heels of Monday’s 7-2 win over East Henderson. The two victories improved Polk County’s overall record to 10-2.

Next up is a home match Thursday with Hendersonville. The Bearcats defeated Owen 5-4 on Tuesday, handing the Warhorses their first conference loss. Hendersonville remains undefeated in Western Highlands Conference play, with Polk and Owen a game back. A Wolverine win Thursday would create a three-way tie and keep Polk squarely in the hunt for a conference title.

Bella Marino and Trinity Branham each won two matches Tuesday and the Wolverines swept the 3-6 singles matches to take a 4-2 lead entering doubles. Polk’s No. 1 doubles team of Hannah Jenne and Tana Harris then earned an 8-6 win to clinch the match for the Wolverines.

1. Meredith Anderson (E) d. Hannah Jenne 10-8; 2. Danielle Harris (E) d. Tana Harris 10-5; 3. Haven Dufford (PC) d. Miceala Ensley 10-6; 4. Bella Marino (PC) d. Taylor Shipman 10-7; 5. Trinity Branham (PC) d. Nicole Freeman 10-6; 6. Ava Marino (PC) d. Lindsey Bull 10-6.

1. Jenne-Harris (PC) d. Harris-Ensley 8-6; 2. Anderson-Shipman (E) d. Dufford-A. Marino 8-2; 3. B. Marino-Branham (PC) d. Freeman-Bull 8-6.

In Monday’s match, Polk County won four of six singles matches, then swept doubles play to take a 7-2 win over East Henderson.

Jenne’s 10-0 win at No. 1 singles set the tone for the match, with Harris, Marino and Branham all winning their matches. Alicia Twitty suffered an injury during her match and was forced to retire while leading 6-4.

1. Hannah Jenne (PC) d. Mimi Guerrero 10-0; 2. Tana Harris (PC) d. Claire Maybin 10-4; 3. Gracie Thiessen (EH) d. Haven Dufford 10-7; 4. Anabell Cram (EH) d. Alicia Twitty 4-6 ret.; 5. Bella Marino (PC) d. Kira Green 10-4; 6. Trinity Branham (PC) d. Sheridan Mentch 10-3.

1. Jenne-Harris (PC) d. Guerro-Thiessen 8-0; 2. Dufford-Ava Marino (PC) d. Maybin-Cram 8-6; 3. B. Marino-Branham (PC) d. Mentch-Williams 8-6.