Julia Griffin, left, and Tana Harris

Polk County’s doubles team of Tana Harris and Julia Griffin claimed the Western Highlands Conference title on Thursday in the league’s postseason tournament in Newland.

Harris and Griffin, the defending WHC champs, earned their second straight title with an 8-1 win over Owen’s Mattie Lehman and Amari Hollifield. It was the only game that the Polk County duo lost during the day’s play at Avery.

It also marked the third straight WHC doubles title for Harris, who teamed with Hannah Jenne to win the tourney in 2017.

Polk County’s Sara Muse reached the singles final before falling 10-5 to Owen’s Anna Sobel. Muse led 4-2 before Sobel rallied, but the finish earned Muse a spot in the 1A Western Regional to be held Oct. 18-19 in Elkin.

Harris and Griffin will also compete in the regional, where the top four finishers earn a spot in the 1A state tournament.

Polk County’s Ava Marino, Madi Pruette and Victoria Bolling each won at least one match in singles play, with Marino pressing Sobel in the semifinals before falling 10-5.

“Very proud of how everyone competed,” said Polk County head coach Richard Davis.

Polk County also still has the 1A state playoffs to come. Tennis brackets are pre-drawn based on conferences, and Polk County, as the Western Highlands Conference champion, has a first-round bye. The Wolverines are set to play the winner of Yadkin Valley Conference’s No. 2 seed and Southern Piedmont Conference’s No. 2 seed. Those look to be Chatham Central and Thomas Jefferson, respectively.

The NCHSAA will release official pairings on Monday.

Polk County results only

Ava Marino d. Summer Thoma (Owen) 10-3
Madi Pruette d. Sydney Edwards (Mountain Heritage) 10-3
Victoria Bolling d. Emma Bentley (Avery) 10-3
Sara Muse d. Pruette 10-0
Anna Sobel (Owen) d. Bolling 10-0
Marino d. Emma Kitchin (Avery) 10-3
Muse d. Cassie Bailey (Avery) 10-4
Sobel d. Marino 10-5
Sobel d. Muse 10-5

Tana Harris-Julia Griffin d. Lily Markland-Kennedy Bindlechner (Avery) 8-0
Harris-Griffin d. Sophia Angkin-Ursula Kelley (Mountain Heritage) 8-0
Harris-Griffin d. Mattie Lehman-Amari Hollifield (Owen) 8-1