Polk County swept through the Western Highlands Conference this season and nearly swept all of its postseason awards.

Quarterback Reece Schlabach has been named the conference’s offensive player of the year, with defensive lineman Chase McMurray earning defensive player of the year honors. Head coach Bruce Ollis was named the conference coach of the year after leading the Wolverines to an undefeated conference record, a 9-4 season and the second round of the state 2A playoffs.

Schlabach ran for 1,102 yards and 23 touchdowns and threw for 1,638 yards and 12 touchdowns in leading Polk County’s offense. McMurray finished the season with 54 tackles, including a team-high 15 tackles for loss.

Owen junior running back Jager Gardner was named the conference player of the year, with Avery’s Tre Jackson earning special teams player of the year. The conference also honored Madison senior Trevor Hoffman as the league’s running back of the year.

Polk County placed nine players on the all-conference squad. They include:

– Schlabach
– Senior Anthony Carson
– McMurray
– Senior Tyrone Miller
– Junior Jordan Smith
– Senior Zane Capozzi
– Senior Debois Miller
– Sophomore Jamal Tanner
– Junior D.J. Twitty

The rest of the 2013 all-Western Highlands Conference squad includes:

Jager Gardner, Quentin Carver, Taylor Earley, Grant Dickerson, Zee Johnston, Cade Fox, Mason Eades, Austin Bennett

Mountain Heritage
Trevor Robinson, Jake Virnelson, Dalton Robinson, Colby Presnell, Jake McClellan, Drew Hoilman

Sawyer Heery, Cole Cleary, Lucas Brovet, Raymond Reid

Daniel Nash, Cole Cuthbertson, Dylan Hilemon, Tyler Hoffman

Tre Jackson, Daniel Childress, Scott Wiseman, Austin Phillips

Dalton Beaver, Michael Vaughn

Photo: Jane Ollis

Other Articles