Polk County's football seniors were recognized at the team's postseason banquet (Jane Ollis photo).

Wolverine football program celebrates 2020 season

Polk County’s football program celebrated its delayed 2020 season with its annual postseason banquet and awards ceremony.

Players, coaches and families gathered in the PCHS cafeteria to mark the Wolverines’ 6-2 season, which included a share of the Western Highlands Conference regular-season championship and the program’s first appearance in the 1AA West Regional final.

Head coach Bruce Ollis and staff handed out postseason awards. Those included:

Junior Varsity
Coach’s Award: Alex Tipton
Most Improved Player: Kole Powell
MVP Defense: Vincent Twitty
MVP Offense: Deaken Nodine

MVP Defensive Line: Gage McSwain
MVP Linebacker: Nate Henderson
MVP Defensive Back: Shane Parris
MVP Quarterback: Casey Beiler
MVP Receiver: Elijah Barnes
MVP Offensive Line: Jared Searcy
Most Improved: Kanye Staley
Mr. Wolverine: Tyler Staley
MVP: Angus Weaver