Polk County's Angus Weaver

Polk County senior Angus Weaver has been named the Mountain Foothills 7 Football Player of the Year for the 2022 season.

Weaver, a Shrine Bowl selection, rushed for 1,636 yards and 22 touchdowns this season for Polk County. He also caught 15 passes for 203 yards and four touchdowns and threw a touchdown pass.

Defensively, Weaver recorded 120 tackles, 14 of those for loss, and had six sacks and two fumble recoveries.

Weaver, who was named last season as the MF7’s Defensive Player of the Year, is believed to be the first Polk County player to win a conference’s top honor since Andre Overholt in 2010.

Joining Weaver on the All-MF7 team were Casey Beiler, Obed Najera and Antonio Simpson.

Chase’s Jalen Rudisill was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, with Hendersonville’s C.J. Landrum selected as the top defensive player. Shrine Bowler Reagan McCranie of Chase earned Lineman of the Year while Hendersonville’s Cooper King was named Kicker of the Year.

Chase head coach Chris Cogdill received Coach of the Year honors.

The complete All-MF7 team includes:

Defense All Conference

Defensive Lineman (6) – Alex Chambers (RS Central), Kameron Mills (Chase), Kamden Stephens (Patton), Obed Najera (Polk), Zalen Watkins (East Rutherford), Judson Weaver (Brevard)

Linebackers (7) – Dennis Waters (Hendersonville), Anthony Smith (Chase), Brenon Austin (Chase), Jermany Harris (Chase), Colten Dale (Patton), Jacob Stockton (Brevard), Coleman Tisdale (East Rutherford)

Defensive Backs (6) – Alijah Ferguson (Hendersonville), Isaiah Dodd (Chase), Jhari Mosley (Chase), Reid Pons (Patton), Henry Ogle (Brevard), Marcus McKinney (RS Central)

Athlete (1) – Taivon Derisma (Chase)

Offense All Conference

Offensive Lineman (7) – Dawson Carswell (Patton), Kadin Metz (Chase), Jakarei Davis (Chase), Ty Kilgo (Chase), William Capell (Hendersonville), Brady Myers (Brevard), Jesse Arrowood (RS Central)

Tight End (1) – Dillon Galloway (Brevard)

Quarterback (2) – Casey Beiler (Polk), Lennard Benniefield (Hendersonville)

RB (4) – Malachi Coston (RS Central), Randan Clarke (Patton), Hezzie Rudisill (Hendersonville), Pj Deshauteurs (Brevard)

WR (3) – Eric Rasheed (Hendersonville), Antonio Simpson (Polk), Nahshon Griffin (Brevard)