Polk County's Antonio Simpson is the 2023 Mountain Foothills 7 Conference Player of the Year

Polk County senior Antonio Simpson has been named the 2023 Mountain Foothills 7 Conference Football Player of the Year.

It marks the second consecutive season that a Wolverine player has received the league’s top honor, with Angus Weaver winning the award in 2022.

Four other Pok County players – Jadyn Virgil, Lawson Carter, Loreynzo Sanchez and Keaundrae Green – were chosen for the All-MF7 squad.

Simpson finished the season with 80 pass receptions for 885 yards and eight touchdowns. He ended his Polk County career as the school’s all-time leader in receiving yardage with 2,513.

Defensively, Simpson finished the regular season with 50 tackles, including 32 tackles for loss. He had one of the best defensive games of his career at Brevard, recording 15 tackles, eight of those for loss.

Simpson had an interception return for a touchdown against Patton and also blocked a field goal against Tuscola. He had a touchdown-saving tackle in Polk’s 34-30 win over Hendersonville, chasing down Hezzie Rudisill on a drive that eventually ended without the Bearcats scoring.

Simpson has been selected to play in the East-West All-Star Game in December.

East Rutherford’s Blake McClellan was named the league’s Offensive Player of the Year, with Brevard’s Coleman Smith chosen as the league’s top defender.

East Rutherford’s Trevor Jenkins was named the league’s Lineman of the Year, with Brevard’s Hernando Hernandez named the Kicker of the Year and Brevard’s Luke Coleman named the Coach of the Year.

The complete All-MF7 squad:


CJ Landrum, Hendersonville
Landon Barnes, Chase
Zion Brown, Brevard
Isaiah Phillips, Brevard
Jordan Dixon, East Rutherford
Judson Weaver, Brevard
Trevon Whitmire, Brevard

Gianni Jacobs, Hendersonville
Zalen Watkins, East Rutherford
Caleb Shires, Chase
Elijah Eubanks, Brevard

Defensive Backs
Marcus McKinney, R-S Central
Leo Maupin, Brevard
Henry Ogle, Brevard
CJ Jackson, East Rutherford
Devin Mosley, Chase
Levi Vogel, R-S Central

Zac Frasher, Chase


Levi Garrett, Brevard
CJ Garner, R-S Central
Mikkail Jackson, East Rutherford
Jakarei Davis, Chase
Jadyn Virgil, Polk County
Alex Newman, Brevard
Graham Painter, Hendersonville

Tight End
Dillon Galloway, Brevard

Lawson Carter, Polk County
Landon Flynn, East Rutherford

Running Back
Desmond Sexton, Patton
Hezzi Rudisill, Hendersonville
Brandon Pinkerton, East Rutherford
Da’Zion Murray, Chase
Loreynzo Sanchez, Polk County

Wide Receiver
Sam Huffman, Patton
J’hari Mosley, Chase
Keaundrae Green, Polk County
Eli Griffin, Brevard