Polk County senior Angus Weaver has been chosen to participate in the 2022 Shrine Bowl

Polk County senior Angus Weaver has been chosen to take part in the 86th annual Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas, set for Dec. 17 in Spartanburg.

The Shrine Bowl annually matches the top high school seniors in North and South Carolina. Weaver is the seventh Polk County player chosen to participate in the all-star game and the first since Derrick Overholt in 2007.

The game will be the first since 2019 after a two-year absence due to the global coronavirus pandemic. The game will also move to Spartanburg High School after being played for several seasons at Wofford College. Kickoff on Dec. 17 will be 1 p.m.

Polk County Shrine Bowlers
1993: Kevin Seay
1994: Chris Mintz
1996: Chris Eckert
1997: Richard McEntyre
2003: Jim Ollis
2007: Derrick Overholt
2022: Angus Weaver

Weaver has rushed for 1,051 yards and 12 touchdowns in 108 carries this season. He also has 10 pass receptions for 165 yards and three touchdowns. Weaver’s rushing total led all Western North Carolina backs prior to his missing the Wolverines’ Sept. 29 win at R-S Central due to a sore shoulder.

Defensively, Weaver has recorded 84 tackles with four sacks. The tackles total still led all WNC players entering Friday’s games. Weaver is listed as a linebacker on the Shrine Bowl roster.

Weaver is one of four WNC players selected for the game, joining Chase’s Reagan McCranie and A.C. Reynolds’ Russell Barnette and DeShawn Stone.

The complete North Carolina Shrine Bowl roster:

Sullivan Absher, Southpoint, OL
Roston Barber, Pine Crest, OL
Clinton Barlow, Charlotte Catholic, OL
Jake Crocker, Princeton, OL
Will Coats, Clayton, OL
Hayden Garner, Roanoke Rapids, OL
Reagan McCranie, Chase, OL
Sam Pendleton, Reagan, OL
Mark Tomljanvic, Providence, OL
Jaylen Alexander-Raynor, East Forsyth, QB
Joshua Jones, Westover, QB
Kmarion Baldwin, St. Pauls, RB
Bailey Luke, Providence, RB
Tralon Mitchell, Southern Nash, RB
Bryson Esser, NL, TE
Brock Chappell, Gibbons, TE/LS
Chris Culliver, Maiden, WR
Que’Sean Brown, East Forsyth, WR/RM
Ja’Keith Hamilton, Shelby, WR
Kevin Concepcion, Chambers, WR
Brandon Sanders, South View, WR/DB
Palmer Williams, Davie County, K/P
Colsen Fields, Heritage, Ath
Semaj Turner, Reagan, DL
Isaiah Shirley, Watauga, DL
Jamal Jarrett, Grimsley, DL
KJ Sampson, New Bern, DL
Anthony Mebane, Southern Durham, DL
Russell Barnette, A.C. Reynolds, DL
DeAndre Lynch, Rocky Mount, DL
Ben Cutter, East Lincoln, LB
Michael Short, Mallard Creek, LB
Cahari Haynes, Burns, LB
Jaybron Harvey, Southern Durham, LB
Demoris Jenkins, North Mecklenburg, LB
Will Rhodes, Williams, LB
Angus Weaver, Polk County, LB
Clifton Davis Jr, Williams, DB
Nigel Lucas, Wake Forest, DB
Deshawn Stone, A.C. Reynolds, DB
DJ Hamilton, Mallard Creek, DB/WR
Tashawn Jeter, R.J. Reynolds, DB
Tamarcus Cooley, Rolesville, DB/WR/RM
Trevell Jones, Northern Nash, DB