Polk County senior Antonio Simpson

Polk County senior wide receiver Antonio Simpson has been chosen to play in the North Carolina Coaches Association East-West All-Star Game.

Annually matching top seniors from around North Carolina, the East-West game will be held this year on Sunday, Dec. 17 rather than the traditional July date. The game will be played in Jamieson Stadium on the campus of Grimsley High School in Greensboro.

Simpson has starred on both sides of the line of scrimmage this season for Polk County. As a receiver, he has caught 42 passes for 727 yards and seven touchdowns. Defensively, through seven games, he had 56 tackles, 24 of those for loss. He also returned an interception for a touchdown against Patton.

Simpson has 129 career receptions for 2,355 yards and 19 touchdowns. He holds Polk County records for career and season receiving yardage.

He is the first Polk County player chosen for the East-West game since Tyler Philpott in 2011 and the ninth in school history (Chris Eckert, Travis Brady, Jim Ollis, Daniel McEntyre, Regis Bittle, Jordan Ollis, Andre Overholt, Tyler Philpott).

The complete West All-Stars include:

John Armstrong, OL, South Point
Spencer Baldwin, OL, Mount Airy
Charlie Birtwistle, K, South Point
Graham Buckrham, OL, Grimsley
Jaylen Carl, TE, Southwest Guilford
Noah Comer, OLB, Forestview
Jamarie Davis, OLB, Grimsley
Thomas Dobias, ILB, Randleman
Dillan Earp, ILB, Hibriten
Caleb Edstrom, ILB, Mooresville
CJ Ferguson, RB, West Iredell
Nigel Gay, DB, East Forsyth
Eli Greene, OL, Watauga
Cassidy Harvin, WR, Reagan
Nytavious Huskey, ATH, Crest
Jonathan Johnson, DB, Burns
Colt Kluttz, DT, Mount Pleasant
Hayden Lam, OL, Northeast Guilford
Christian Lewis, WB, A.C. Reynolds
Tristen McBride, DT, Carson
Dashawn Medley, DB, Hickory
Tanner Moore, QB, Alexander Central
Michael Mullins Jr, DT, East Forsyth
Jeremiah Norris, RB, Burns
Jaden Pierce, NG, Shelby
Brendan Pohl, OL, A.C. Reynolds
Jackson Pryor, OLB, Watauga
Tate Robertson, OL, Page
Antonio Simpson, WR, Polk County
Jaquavion Smith, OLB, Forest Hills
Hunter Stalcup, RB, Murphy
Walker Stroup, DB/K, Mount Airy
Jalen Thomas, DB/K, Thomasville
Elijah Tillery, QB, Draughn
Marquis Varner-James, NG, Ragsdale
Corbin Wilson, Southwest Guilford

The East All-Stars include:

Jaquan Bowen, DL, E.A. Laney
BJ Brown, RB, Lee County
Chris Bryant, LB, Saint Pauls
Tavares Carter, WR, Heritage
Tyjhere Crudup, RB, E.A. Laney
Isaiah Crumpler, DB, D.H. Conley
Brandon Crutchfield, DB, Heritage
Jordan Davis, WR, South Brunswick
Malaki Dobbins, DL, Southern Nash
Alex Evans, DB, Clinton
Mason Fortune, QB, Millbrook
Jodi Freeman, OL, Purnell Swett
Juan Hernandez, K, Pine Forest
Gates Hinton, LB, Fuquay-Varina
Carter Jacobs, OL, Middle Creek
Zay Jones, RB, Scotland
Randall King, WR, Northern Nash
Rodney Lacewell, OL, East Bladen
Braxton Lassiter, DL, Leesville Road
Preston Lilley, OL, Leesville Road
Robert Magwood, OL, New Bern
Jacoby Martin, DL, Richmond
Rico McDonald, WR, Cape Fear
Edward Padgette, OL, Havelock
Josiah Peters, DB, Cleveland
Reagan Printy, LB, John T. Hoggard
Keveon Rodgers, QB, Hertford County
Jymiek Sampson, DL, Clinton
Landon Sargent, LB, Cape Fear
Joel Sheehan, QB, Holly Springs
Matthew Smith, LB, Hillside
Russell Sykes IV, DL, Rolesville
Kamal Thames, ATH, Terry Sanford
Gage Tremaine, LB, Cleveland
Thaddeus Tucker, OL, Hunt
Malakahi West, DL, John T. Hoggard