Polk places five on All-WHC football squad

Five Polk County football players earned selection to the 2019 All-Western Highlands Conference squad.

Seniors Logan Conner, Chase McSwain, Daniel Ruff and Trey Thompson were joined by freshman Angus Weaver on the All-WHC team as chosen by league coaches.

The five players helped Polk County finished 9-4 this season and reach the second round of the state 1AA playoffs.

Mitchell’s Noah Putman was named the WHC Player of the Year, with Avery quarterback Troy Hoilman named the Offensive Player of the Year and Mountain Heritage’s Kason Hall and London Neill sharing Defensive Player of the Year.

Owen’s Saevion Gibbs earned the league’s Lineman of the Year, with Mitchel’s Elliott Kadans named the Special Teams Player of the Year. Mountain Heritage’s Cole Shehan and Mitchell’s Tyler McKinney shared Athlete of the Year while Mountain Heritage’s Joey Robinson was named the Coach of the Year.

Community Partners