Polk County kicker / punter Matias Akers received selection as the 2020 Western Highlands Conference Special Teams Player of the Year

Polk places 10 on All-WHC football squad; Akers named top special teams player

Polk County placed 10 athletes on the All-Western Highlands Conference football team for the 2020 season, with one senior earning an individual honor.

The list of honorees included senior kicker Matias Akers, who was named the Special Teams Player of the Year.

Also honored were seniors Clint Deyton, Jared Searcy and Nate Henderson; juniors Steven Chupp, Kanye Staley and Harrison Waddell; and sophomores Elijah Barnes, Casey Beiler and Angus Weaver.

The Wolverines finished 6-2, shared the WHC regular-season title and reached the 1A West Regional final.