Polk County’s football program recently celebrated the 2022 season with its annual year-end banquet, held this year at Foothills Community Chapel in Columbus.

Head coach Bruce Ollis and members of Polk County’s staff reviewed the season and handed out awards to top varsity and junior varsity players.

In addition the team award winners, the program also recognized all-conference players, those who set school records during the season and Shrine Bowl of the Carolinas selection Angus Weaver.

Polk County assistant head coach Jamie Thompson also presented a special award to Ollis, who recently announced his retirement after a career that included 18 seasons and 150 victories at PCHS.

Those receiving team awards at the celebration included:

Most Valuable Defensive Lineman: Obed Najera
Most Valuable Linebacker: Angus Weaver
Most Valuable Offensive Back: Casey Beiler
Most Valuable Receiver: Antonio Simpson
Most Valuable Offensive Lineman: Reilly Yoder, Bryson Owen
Most Valuable Defensive Back: Keaundrae Green, Antonio Simpson
Most Valuable Player / Conference Player of the Year: Angus Weaver
Mr. Wolverine: Gabe McGraw
Most Improved Player: Karlen McEntyre
Captains Award: Angus Weaver, Obed Najera, Casey Belier

Most Valuable Offense: Lorenzo Sanchez
Most Valuable Defense: Zalen McCraw
Coaches Award: Nolan Simpson

(Click any image for a larger view. All photos by Jane Ollis)