Polk County's Jayln Thomas, right., and Davis Young (photo courtesy Mountain Foothills 7 Conference)

Four Polk County runners earned all-conference selection Tuesday with their effort in the Mountain Foothills 7 Conference Championships in Brevard.

Jayln Thomas ran to a sixth-place showing, with Davis Young finishing 11th, while Susanna Ashworth came home 10th and Leah Doston claimed 12th to earn All-MF7 recognition at the meet. The conference awarded all-conference recognition to the top 15 runners in each race.

Polk County’s Leah Dotson (92) and Susanna Ashworth each finished in the top 12 at Tuesday’s meet (photo courtesy Mountain Foothills 7 Conference)

R-S Central’s Brooke Hope and Brevard’s Leo Murray finished as conference champions.

Arianna Wood added a 1th-place effort for the Polk girls.

Polk County runners will continue their postseason efforts on Oct. 29, taking part in the NCHSAA 2A West Regional at Asheville Christian Academy in Swannanoa. The boys race begins at 10 a.m. while the girls race starts at 10:30.


10. Susanna Ashworth, 22:11.9; 12. Leah Dotson, 23:05.3; 17. Arriana Wood, 24:26.4; 21. Ellie Baughman, 25:05.3; 35. Luna Gonzalez, 29:40.4.


6. Jayln Thomas, 17:50.7; 11. Davis Young, 18:15.5; 35. Tristan Devine, 21:51.4; 39. Ardon Malan, 22:14.6; 40. Aaden Denton, 22:22.3; 47. Phillip Teague, 22:59.3; 55. Lyric Broach, 24:43.4