Warning: array_merge(): Expected parameter 1 to be an array, bool given in /home/customer/www/polksports.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-optimize-premium/wp-optimize.php on line 631

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in /home/customer/www/polksports.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wp-optimize-premium/wp-optimize.php on line 608

Warning: array_flip(): Can only flip STRING and INTEGER values! in /home/customer/www/polksports.com/public_html/wp-content/plugins/autodescription/bootstrap/init-compat.php on line 48
Wolverine netters top Owen in season opener - Boys Tennis

Wolverine netters top Owen in season opener

Polk County opened its 2022 boys tennis season Monday on a positive note, topping Owen 6-3 in a non-conference match at Owen.

Freshman Banks Barber gave the Wolverines an early boost with a 1-6, 6-1, 10-8 victory over Blake Bradley at No. 1 singles.

Jack Smith, Thaddeus Ruff and Riley Ballentine added singles wins to give Polk a 4-2 lead. Eric Avellaneda and Smith teamed for a win at No. 2 doubles and Gabe Alvarado and Ballentine earned a win at No. 3 doubles to seal the Wolverine victory.

“Really proud to get started off with a win today against a fairly good team,” said Polk County head coach Richard Davis. “Really proud of Banks Barber as a freshman, losing the first set 6-1 and then storming back to win the match was a pretty rare feat.

“Also, just really proud of the whole top six as we lost two tiebreakers in singles and played pretty decent doubles.”

Polk County will return to the courts on Wednesday, traveling to Kings Mountain for another non-conference match.

1. Banks Barber (PC) d. Blake Bradley 1-6, 6-1, 10-8; 2. Jack Smith (PC) d. Wilson Davis 6-2, 6-4; 3. Rawley Wilson (O) d. Eric Avellaneda 6-2, 1-6, 10-8; 4. Thaddeus Ruff (PC) d. Wayah Gore 6-4, 6-4; 5. Cole Roy (O) d. Gabe Alvarado 6-3, 2-6, 10-7; 6. Riley Ballentine (PC) d. Killian Eubank 6-3, 6-3.

1. Bradley-Davis (O) d. Barber-Ruff 7-5; 2. Avellaneda-Smith (PC) d. Wilson-Gore 7-6 (7-5); 3. Alvarado-Ballentine (PC) d. Roy-Eubank 6-0.