All-WHC basketball: Carson named top offensive player, six others honored

Polk County junior Dominique Carson has been named the Western Highlands Conference Offensive Player of the Year, with six other Wolverines earning All-WHC basketball honors.

Carson averaged 20.4 points per game in leading Polk County to a 6-5 record, the program’s first winning season in nine years.

Joining Carson on the All-WHC boys squad were seniors Brett Bagwell, Wesley Royter and Tyler Staley.

Three Polk County seniors also received spots on the girls all-conference team, with Kristen Hall, Sara Muse and Marissa Twitty receiving that honor.

Mitchell’s Caius Arrington was named the Boys Player of the Year, with Mountain Heritage’s Logan Higgins named the league’s top defender and Hank Newsom named the coach of the year.

For the girls, Mountain Heritage senior Hannah Tipton was named the league’s top player, with Mitchell’s Paige Johnson the Offensive Player of the Year and teammate Jill Pittman named the Defensive Player of the Year. Mitchell coach Zack McCartha was named the league’s top coach.


Player of the Year: Caius Arrington, Mitchell
Offensive Player of the Year: Dominique Carson, Polk County
Defensive Player of the Year Logan Higgins, Mountain Heritage
Coach of the Year: Hank Newson, Mountain Heritage

Avery: Troy Hoilman
Madison: Caden Hilemon, Ganon Kools
Mitchell: Caius Arrington, Tim Hollifield, Ty Pitman, Jeremy Sparks
Mountain Heritage: Sage Austin, Avery Crane, Logan Higgins, Gabe Silvers, Max Smoker
Owen: Dequan Boyce, Hunter Inabinett
Polk County: Brett Bagwell, Dominique Carson, Wesley Royster, Tyler Staley

Player of the Year: Hannah Tipon, Mountain Heritage
Offensive Player of the Year: Paige Johnson, Mitchell
Defensive Player of the Year Jill Pittman, Mitchell
Coach of the Year: Xack McCartha, Mitchell

Avery: Reagan Hughes, Alexia Stines
Madison: Leah Sawyer, Cara Shelton
Mitchell: Savannah Banks, Marley Cloer, Chandra Jenkins, Paige Johnson, Jill Pittman, Reagan Spark
Mountain Heritage: Ivy McGee, Kaydence Kooles, Hannah Tipton, Keira Wilson, Kennedy Wilson
Owen: Carly Hancock, Hannah Larios
Polk County: Kristen Hall, Sara Muse, Marissa Twitty

Community Partners