Wolverines place four on NCSCA all-district softball squad

Polk County's Haley Fowler

Four Polk County standouts have been named to the North Carolina Softball Coaches Association all-district 2A squad for District 8.

Rising juniors Autumn Owen, Haley Fowler and Maranda Gosnell and sr. graduate Hayley Kropp were chosen for the team.

District 8 includes Buncombe, Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Henderson, Jackson, Macon, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Swain, Transylvania and Yancey counties.

Madison’s Hannah Jennings was named the district player of the year while R-S Central’s Haley White was named the district pitcher of the year.

The complete team:

Hayley Kropp, Polk County, sr., SS
Autumn Owen, Polk County, so., C
Haley Fowler, Polk County, so., 3B/P
Maranda Gosnell, Polk County, so., 2B
Haley White, R.S. Central, so., P
Madison Crain, R.S. Central, so., P/3B
Taylor Koon, R.S. Central, jr., C
Katie McEntire, R.S. Central, sr., CF
Brooke Moore, R.S. Central, jr., SS
Kyonna McEntyre, R.S. Central, jr., 1B
Jori Whiteside, Chase, jr., OF/1B
Ciera Hardin, Chase, so., 1B/P
Samantha Craft, Chase, so., 2B/C
Brianna Harrill, Chase, sr., P
Haeli Bryson, Franklin, so., P/LF/UT
Caitlyn Ledford, Owen, so., P/UT
Bria Compton, Owen, jr., UT
Casey Gilbert, Brevard, sr., P
Brooke Nanney, Brevard, so., 3B
Makayla McNeill, Brevard, sr., 2B
Callie Green, Brevard, sr., 1B
Hannah Jennings, Madison, so., 1B/P
Brooke Vilcinskas, Madison, jr., 2B/C
Samantha Gosnell, Madison, sr., P/1B