Wolverines place five on all-conference football squad

Polk County placed five players on the all-Western Highlands Conference football team for the 2016 season.

Seniors Jaymes Wingo and Josh Chupp and juniors Braden Miller, Dillon Overholt and Devin Panchyshyn were selected for the all-conference team.

Hendersonville’s Tykel Landrum was named the conference player of the year, with Mountain Heritage quarterback Trey Robinson named the offensive player of the year, Mountain Heritage linebacker Adam Shuford named the defensive player of the year, Mitchell’s Alex McKinney named the lineman of the year and Hendersonville kicker Drew Eudy named the special teams player of the year.

Hendersonville’s Jim Sosebee, Mitchell’s Travise Pitman and Mountain Heritage’s Joey Robinson shared coach of the year honors.

The complete all-Western Highlands Conference team:

Avery: Steven Sanchez, Brett Smith

Hendersonville: Shaq Rospel, Jhon Salguero, Alex Williford, Tykel Landrum, Leon Cooks, Drew Eudy, Ty’rese Hunt, Shawn Pearce, Wyatt Holbert, Tyrese Cauley

Madison: Colby Edwards, Dawson Coates, Devin Nash, Ty Snelson

Mitchell: Alex McKinney, Landon Miller, Brody Smith, Noah Pitman, Ben Robinson, Ben Young, Jacob Yelton, Trevor Self, Todd Self

Mountain Heritage: Junior Denton, Michael Austin, Cole Burleson, Trey Robinson, Adam Shuford, Corey Presnell, Devan Woody, Austen Rocha, Zeb Virnelson

Owen: Kendrick Weaver, Tyler Sexton

Polk County: Joshua Chupp, Braden Miller, Dillon Overholt, Devin Panchyshyn, Jaymes Wingo

Note: Braden Miller was originally omitted from this article. PolkSports regrets the error.