Twitty earns spot on USA South all-conference squad

Former Polk County standout D.J. Twitty (64) is playing in the offensive line at Methodist (photo courtesy Methodist College sports information).

Former Polk County standout D.J. Twitty was one of five Methodist College football players recognized by the USA South on Thursday as the conference released its 2018 postseason awards.

Twitty, along with running back E’Montie Dears, wide receiver Dylan Cummings and defensive lineman Will England, was selected to the USA South All-Conference Second Team in voting conducted by the league coaches. It is the first postseason award for all four players. Additionally, kicker Landon Cheviron was named to the All-Sportsmanship Team.

Playing the majority of the season at left guard, Twitty helped pave the way for an offense that churned out 118.4 rushing yards per game and nearly 300 total yards of offense per contest.

Cummings, a senior from Pennsville, N.J., totaled 692 yards and seven touchdowns on 62 receptions this season. In conference-only play, his 48 receptions ranked first, while his 558 yards and five touchdowns each ranked third.

A senior from Florence, S.C., Dears ranked third in USA South-only play in carries (148), rushing yards (657), yards per game (93.9) and rushing touchdowns (7). In total, he rumbled for 853 yards on 202 carries in playing all 10 games. With 2,510 career rushing yards, Dears leaves as the third-highest ground gainer in program history, while his 570 carries are second all-time and his 19 career rushing touchdowns are fifth best for a Monarch.

England, a senior from St. Augustine, Fla., picked up his first all-conference nod after posting a career-best 43 tackles in 10 games this season. His tackle total was fifth on the team, while his 9.0 tackles for loss were good for second on the team and 12th in the USA South.

Huntingdon and Ferrum each claimed two of the USA South’s major awards, as Ferrum’s Brian Mann and Montel Lee were named the league’s top offensive and defensive players, respectively. Huntingdon’s Mike Turk was selected as the USA South Coach of the Year, and the Hawks’ Linell Tarver was picked as the Defensive Rookie of the Year. Elijah Hairston of Maryville was the USA South Offensive Rookie of the Year.