Polk County places three on all-WHC basketball squads

Polk County's Dillon Overholt

A trio of Polk County basketball players have earned all-Western Highlands Conference honors.

Junior Autumn Owen, sophomore Ansley Lynch and junior Dillon Overholt were chosen for the all-conference team in voting done by the league’s coaches.

Owen led Polk County in scoring this season, averaging 15.5 points per game. She also grabbed 4.8 rebounds per game. Lynch averaged 7.8 points and 6.4 rebounds per game before suffering torn knee ligaments midway through the season and missing the second half of the year. Overholt averaged a team-high 10.9 points per game for the Wolverines.

Mountain Heritage’s Ciera Chandler and Avery’s Jeffrey Puckett were named the conference players of the year. Mountain Heritage girls coach Susie Shelton and Avery boys coach Scott Grubb earned coach of the year honors.

The complete all-WHC basketball teams:

Avery: Kesha Garland, Heaven Nelson, Hannah Mcintosh
Hendersonville: Sekaya Canady
Madison: Hannah Chandler, Brook Vilcinskas, Hannah Jennings
Mitchell: Eden Phillips, Emma Duncan, Morgan Buchanan
Mountain Heritage: Haley Elkins, Ciera Chandler, Hali King, Abbey Gilly, Olivia Grindstaff
Owen: Kendal Marlowe, Chesney Gardner
Polk County: Ansley Lynch, Autumn Owen

Avery: Andy Dominguez, Chase Kirkpatrick, Deacon Heath, Jeffrey Puckett
Hendersonville: Blake Hamrick, Kalin Ensley, Ben Baker
Madison: Matthew Lloyd
Mitchell: Justin Greene, Alex McKinney, Trystan Jenkins
Mountain Heritage: Lucas Jenkins, Callin Randolph, Trey Robinson
Owen: Brian Bartlett, Mathew Brown, Ben Craig
Polk County: Dillon Overholt