Akers named co-WHC player of year; Edwards. Marshall also on all-conference squad

Polk County's Isaias Akers

Polk County senior forward Isaias Akers has been chosen as the co-Western Highlands Conference boys soccer player of the year by the league’s coaches.

Akers, who led the Wolverines in scoring during their 11-11-1 campaign, shared the player of the year honor with Hendersonville’s Matthew Mel. It marks the second straight year that Polk County has had a conference player of the year, with Wil Rimer winning the award last season.

Polk County placed two other players on the all-conference squad – junior goalkeeper Wilson Edwards and junior defender Carson Marshall.

Hendersonville’s Mark Sullivant was named the league’s coach of the year.

The complete all-conference team:

Avery: Jordan Smith, Braxton Maya, Cody Daniels, Alex Brassard
Hendersonville: Matthew Mel, Michael Bowen, Hakeem Jenkins, Jordan LaBelle, Alex Salvaggio, Tanner Gilliam, Quinn Booke
Madison: Don McTaggart, Raven Newsom
Mitchell: Aaron Martinez, Jose Queriapa
Mountain Heritage: Robin Smith, Shogo Ohta-Weir, Laken Thomas
Owen: Devin Gildner, Jacob Robinson, Juan Sanchez, Matt Croward, Micah Davis
Polk County: Wilson Edwards, Carson Marshall, Isaias Akers